The Social Factory

the blog of King's CMCI PostGrad Society

Battling with Boy Theory at the Big Conference – by Sara De Benedictis

Read CMCI’s Sara De Benedictis on the WomenTheory blog: “Battling with boy theory at the big conference.”

WomanTheory are keen to welcome new people to post their stories. Click here to find out more: Submit your WomanTheory story

womantheory

My first encounter of the dominance of boy theory and theorists at supposedly feminist informed and ‘friendly’ conferences was a shock to the system. When I was in my first year of my postgraduate degree I had the opportunity to go to a very large established Cultural Studies conference. The specificity of the conference, location and people are irrelevant. I am certain that this story will be familiar to many and could easily stand in for experiences that others have had. These stories tend to be silenced publically. You will not usually find the reporting of academic sexism at conferences on the (now obligatory) twitter hashtag. Rather these stories are told in hushed, angry tones between feminist friends and colleagues unable to compute the hypocrisy of the situation that they have witnessed; gender inequality playing out so palpably in sites that they should not.

I was fortunate that my experiences…

View original post 957 more words

Comments are closed.